Skip to content

I Worshipped Allah for Fifty Years

May 16, 2009

Bismillah

قال نصر بن محمود البَلْخي : <<< قال أحمد بن حرب: عبدتُ اللهَ خمسين سنةً، فما وجدت حلاوَةَ العبادة حتى تركتُ ثلاثة أشياء

تركتُ رِضى النّاس حتى قَدَرتُ أن أتكلَّمَ بالحقِّ

وتركتُ صحبةَ الفاسقين حتى وجدتُ صحبَةَ الصالحينَ

وتركتُ حلاوة الدنيا حتى وجدتُ حلاوةَ الآخرةِ

Nasr ibn Mahmood al Balkhee said; Ahmad ibn Harb stated:

“I worshiped Allaah for fifty years, I wasn’t able to find the sweetness of worship until I forsook three things:

1. I forsook seeking the acceptance of people, so I was able to speak the truth.

2. I forsook the companionship of the sinner, so I was able to accompany the righteous.

3. I forsook the sweetness of the life of this world, so I was able to find the sweetness of the afterlife.”

From: Siyar ‘Alaam an Nubalaa

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2009 6:34 am

    JazakAllahkhair.

    Excuse my ignorance, but who was Ahmad ibn Harb?

  2. May 16, 2009 8:16 pm

    Assalamu Alaikum,

    Masha’Allah, this was very amazing; I hope to follow these guidelines insha’Allah.

    I have a question however. For the last point, “I forsook the sweetness of the life of this world, so I was able to find the sweetness of the afterlife.”, I thought the Prophet would read the Dua, “Oh Allah, give us good in this Dunya and good in the Hereafter” everytime he would make Dua. This Dua is also mentioned in Surah Al-Baqarah. Does this possibly work with the last point?

  3. May 17, 2009 10:09 am

    SL: wa iyyaki, I believe he is a one of the scholars from the early generations. Allahu a’lam, I can try and find a bio for you inshaAllah.

    Arif: wa alaykum salam wa rahmatullah. Good question…the way I understood it is that he left the pleasures of this dunya meaning anything haram or anything that would take him away from the remembrance of Allah and instead he turned to the good deeds of the aakhirah which brought him sweetness..Allah knows best.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

