Skip to content

Qur’anic Characteristic #5: Mubeen

November 2, 2008
tags: ,

Bismillah

walhamdulillah,

The next characteristic of the Qur’an is Mubeen.

“Al Kitaabil Mubeen” appears many times in the Qur’an at the beginning of surahs after the huroof muqatt’aat (disjointed letters).

  • الر ۚ تِلْكَ آيَاتُ الْكِتَابِ الْمُبِينِ Alif-laam-ra. These are the ayaat of the “Mubeen” Book. (12:1)
  • الر ۚ تِلْكَ آيَاتُ الْكِتَابِ وَقُرْآنٍ مُبِينٍ Alif-laam-ra. These are the ayaat of the Book, and a “Mubeen” Qur’an. (15:1)
  • طس ۚ تِلْكَ آيَاتُ الْقُرْآنِ وَكِتَابٍ مُبِينٍ Ta-Seen. These are the ayaat of the Qur’an, and a book that is “Mubeen.” (27:1)
  • طسم تِلْكَ آيَاتُ الْكِتَابِ الْمُبِينِ Ta-Seen-Meem. These are the ayaat of the “Mubeen” Book. (28:1-2)
  • حم وَالْكِتَابِ الْمُبِينِ “Ha-meem. And by the “Mubeen” Book!. (43:1-2) (this ayah is a qasm/an oath)
  • حم وَالْكِتَابِ الْمُبِينِ “Ha-meem. And by the “Mubeen” Book!. (44:1-2) (this ayah is a qasm/an oath)

When Allah ta’ala repeats something so many times in His Speech, then we know there is a reason for the repetition and importance in what is being repeated.

What does it mean that the Qur’an is “Mubeen”?

Mubeen is from the root ba-ya-noon (ب ي ن ), bayn. And this root has three meanings:

  1. Any type of distance.
  2. That which is far (bu’ud, بعد)
  3. Something that is clear (waadih, bayaan,  واضح، بيان)

Something that is clear is far in resemblance to the other.

This Qur’an is Mubeen, it is clear and far from anything else in resemblance. The name Mubeen implies two meanings:

  1. That which is clear in itself. The Qur’an is clear in its content and in its understanding.
  2. That which clarifies the other. The Qur’an clarifies truth from falsehood, guidance from misguidance, the believers from the disbelievers, and it clarifies the mind of a person.

The Qur’an is a bayyinah, a clear proof. Everything that is stated in this Qur’an is based on bayyinah: the ilm of Allah azza wa jal. In other words, this Kitaab is authentic. There is nothing like it, it is unique, clear, comprehensive and profound in its meaning.

May Allah azza wa jal make us companions of Qur’anil Mubeen, Ameen.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 4:45 pm

    I liked this article, masha’Allah…it was very mubeen… (nerdy joke, lol)

  2. November 4, 2008 4:52 pm

    lol…

    Alhamdulillah.

    I was debating the spelling for a long time…..🙂

  3. Mubin Ahmed permalink
    July 28, 2012 8:37 am

    alhamdulillah..

    my name’s meanign is too good…🙂

  4. Mubeen permalink
    September 3, 2012 10:05 am

    assalamualikum,
    iam a visually challenged girl from India, today am so glad that i realised the meaning for my name, i also feal so proud to bare this name which means “that which is clear in itself” i also want you all to remember me in your duas, please pray to Allah the all mighty to make my ways clear both in this life and also in the life after death. Jazakallah.

  5. Mubeen permalink
    September 3, 2012 10:15 am

    Assalamualaikum, am so glad to know the meaning of my name is “that which is clear in itself.” let me pray to Allah thala to make my ways clear both in this life and also after death. jazhakallah.

  6. ALQuran permalink
    April 12, 2013 8:12 am

    Learning Quran at home is an excellent program that enables Adults, Muslims and new Muslims to Read Quran. AlQuranStudy have 5 days classes. We have students in USA, Canada, UK, France, Australia, Spain, Belgium, and Ireland all over the world. We teach 24 hours a day. You can try three days for free of cost. This trial version is to evaluate our online Quran learning service. After that you can decide to continue or discontinue Quran learning with us. We have both male and female tutors. For further assistance you can email us at onlinelearnalquran@yahoo.com as well as you can add us at Skype our Skype ID is Alquran.Teacher. Thanks

  7. zeba permalink
    May 1, 2013 9:17 am

    Where is MUBEEN dua pls send for my email adress MUBEEN dua

  8. July 15, 2014 7:54 am

    Alhamdulillah! My mother gave me this great name ‘mubin’. I am really feel proud to have this name.
    Please pray for me to Allah.
    I want to be ‘clear’ and ‘transparant’ in my words in life. Allah might bless me.

  9. mubeena permalink
    November 17, 2014 2:46 pm

    When my name is so pure, y people don’t like me. y nobody loves me. y am I having so many problems. One or the other tension will be upon my head. Y worries has become my part n parcel of my life

  10. Mobeen permalink
    May 2, 2015 3:22 pm

    Asalamualaykum Jazakallah for this amazing article I finally know what my name means 😄

  11. February 2, 2016 2:26 pm

    السلام عليكم و رحمة الله و بركاته dear sister I’m trying to memorize Suratul Kahf. And really appreciate and like what I’ve read here. الحمد لله ماشاءالله تبارك الله
    I found you by googling the word mubeen as I was listening Quran and didn’t know what it meant. جزاك الله خيراً
    Do you know of any sister I can sit with on skype to learn word by word meaning and study the Surah in detail. ??? جزاك الله خيراً I live on the west coast of Canada and have lost my Quran teacher as I had no money to pay. استغفرالله جزاك الله خيراً
    السلام عليكم و رحمة الله و بركاته

  12. Shym permalink
    February 4, 2016 11:39 pm

    Assalamualaykum sister minhajmuslimah. I hope we can chat about your problem because maybe I can help you suggest about your concerns. Pls do add me on facebook if you have one. coolshym_16@yahoo.com is my email.

  13. Muhammad Bello M. permalink
    April 2, 2016 11:26 am

    Inshaa Allah, i will named my next son Mubeen Bi’iznillah Ta’ala.

Leave a Reply

