Skip to content

Winter for the Believer

December 23, 2008
tags:

Bismillah

While many of us are cold, complaining of the weather, our past predecessors rejoiced at the coming of this season….Why?

“The best season to a believer is the winter, its nights are long for those who wish to pray, and its days are short for those who wish to fast” Al Hasan Al Basri.

It is reported from Abu Hurayrah – Allah be pleased with him – that he said:

Shall I not point you to comfortable proceeds? People responded, “And what is that o Abu Hurayrah?” He replied, “Fasting in winter.”

It is reported from ‘Umar – Allah be pleased with him – that he said:

Winter is booty for the devout worshippers.

It is reported from ‘Ubayd bin ‘Umayr – Allah have mercy on him – that he said:

It used to be said when winter came: O people of the Qur`an, the night has become long so you can pray (more) and the day has become short for you to fast.

Abu Nu’aym, Hilyah Al-Awliyaa`.

It is reported from the famous worshipper Rabi’ah – Allah have mercy on her – that she said:

I have never heard the adhan except that I remember the caller who will announce the Day of Resurrection, and I never see the falling snow except that I imagine the flying pages of the records of peoples deeds (on that day), and I never see swarms of locusts except that I think about the Great Gathering on the Last Day.

Ibn Al-Jawzi, Sifah Al-Safwah Vol. 2 p433.

http://www.sayingsofthesalaf.net

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2008 7:44 am

    Masha’Allah! I just came right from Fajr right now and hearing these words made me feel better. Today after prayer, a man came up and read from Riyadhus Saliheen and the hadith he chose for this morning was when the Prophet (salallahu alayhi wa sallam) asked Bilal, “Tell me what you do that is so special because I can hear your footsteps in front of me in Jannah”. Bilal (radhi Allahu anhu) replied and said, “I don’t really do anything special other than the fact that I make sure to perform two Rakahs immediately after purifying myself with a bath or with Wudu.

    As there is so much merit in these winter times when everything is harder, I hope that is one reminder on how we can most utilize our time properly. Subhanallah, I love Ali (radhi Allahu anhu)’s quote and it always makes me feel humble, “If I knew that the Day of Judgment was to be the next day, I would not be able to perform any more good deeds than I am already”…

  2. December 24, 2008 1:10 pm

    Assalamualaikum wr wb,

    i was wondering if you could help me put together a blog like yours. i really like it.
    wasalam
    s

  3. December 28, 2008 7:26 pm

    Salaam aleikum,

    Are you the same sister who writes for Sh. Suhaib Webb’s blog, True Words and MM? You’re everywhere hey?

    If not and I am confusing Amatullah’s let me know! 🙂

  4. December 29, 2008 8:31 am

    wa alaykum assalam,

    Guilty as charged : ) This all happened within the past few months, walhamdulillah.

Leave a comment