Skip to content

Your Chance to Learn the Qur’an!

March 5, 2009

Bismillah

Alhamdulillah,

As I mentioned on the “about” page, most of my posts are from Al-Huda Institute’s Ta’leem al Qur’an course. Alhamdulillah thumma alhamdulillah, I cannot express into words how much this course, this institute, and the organizers have impacted my life and my relationship with the Book of Allah.

I would like to offer YOU the chance now to learn the Book of Allah:

  1. Evening English Course, Two nights a week. More details HERE.
  2. Weekend English Course, Once a week on Saturdays. More details HERE.

Please take the opportunity NOW inshaAllah. You will not regret it🙂 These courses are open to brothers and sisters inshaAllah.

Please leave any questions in the comments if you have any. Jazaakum Allahu khayran.

Here is the reflection I wrote on the day of we completed the Qur’an:

bismillah, walhamdulilah, was salaatu wa salaamu alaa rasulillah–asalamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu

Alhamdulillah I have been on site since Monday, and I’ve been an online student since the beginning of the course. I would like to begin by first thanking Allah azza wa jal for gathering us together to learn His book, to purify ourselves for Him, and to seek His pleasure–while many of His slaves are wandering blindly in disobedience all around us. Alhamdulillahil lathee bi ni’matihi tattimus-saalihaat.

Indeed Allah azza wa jal has spoken the truth when He said,
يَا أَيُّهَا النَّاسُ قَدْ جَاءَتْكُم مَّوْعِظَةٌ مِّن رَّبِّكُمْ وَشِفَاءٌ لِّمَا فِي الصُّدُورِ وَهُدًى وَرَحْمَةٌ لِّلْمُؤْمِنِينَ

asalamu alaykum to all of my online sisters, and a big jazaakum Allahu khayran to sister Shireen for all that she does for us online sisters. A few months ago she told me of the hadeeth that the deeds are judged by their ending, and subhanAllah I reflect now thinking how hard it was for me to keep up with the course and all the assignments, and now I am here, only by the grace of Allah ta’ala, completing the course. Alhamdulillah.

Before this course, I had no clue what Al-Huda was. I knew I had a few friends who were taking some urdu class online.

About two weeks before the course, my friend from Ottawa tells me that she’ll be going to Toronto for a course they’re having on the Qur’an. I asked her for more details and  I was SO amazed and excited that there was something like this in English, yet quickly saddened because she told me that they’ll only be offering it in Toronto. I made duaa that Allah ta’ala grants me something like this soon, and went on to tell my mom about this course, making duaa that I would have a chance to be apart of it.
Only a few days later she told that they’re offering the course online…subhanAllah I couldn’t sleep, all I kept thinking about was ta’leem. I asked a few sisters for advice since it was M-F 9-3 and I was going to university. Most of the sisters I asked tried to talk me out of it, saying it was too much time and too long of a course…yet I did not want to give up this opportunity and I registered immediately. Alhamdulillah after talking with sister Shireen and Shazia on the phone, I was enrolled in the course.

Sisters laughed at me for sitting infront of a computer for 6 hrs everyday…To them it seemed like too much of a commitment and a waste of time. Now those same sisters regret not having enrolled when they had the chance. Allahumma lakal hamd.

I cannot begin to explain how difficult it was for me during the beginning of the course. I’m sure most of the online sisters feel this way as well. Sitting there for that amount of time was so hard.

If you ask any Muslim today, they will all say they want to feel close to the Qur’an. They want to be attached to the book of Allah. Alhamdulillah, how many institutes can say that this is their goal!?

I was able to achieve my goal of coming closer to the Qur’an. Perhaps, and Allah knows best, this is the answer to my duaa while doing tawaf at the ka’bah. Allahummajalnaa min ashaabil Qur’an.

This course, bi tawfeeqillah and all hamd is due to Allah first and foremost, has not only helped me–but also every single member of my household.
My mom has learned to recite the Qur’an from sister Asma, and she has learned the tafseer from my notes and overhearing the class while I am studying. I wake up to her recitation for tahajjud, as she recites the previous lesson from the day that morning. Rabbirhamhuma kamaa rabbaayani sagheera. I see in her a drive that is missing from many of the youth, and seeing all the aunties in our class really motivates me to do more, and shows how we have no excuses if our older sisters are able to fulfill this mission.

Before this course, I may have thought that I knew some of the Qur’an since I understood the language…but I have only come to realize that I know nothing. It is only when you humble yourself before Allah ta’ala and this Book that the knowledge will come to you.

Our ummah has reduced to mere translation and a mere book of stories and barakah. We always hear: use the Qur’an as your guide, seek your answers from the Qur’an. Yet our problem is that we do not know HOW to do this. This course has taught me how to extract lessons and benefits from the Qur’an. Tafseer is the key to unlock the treasures of the Qur’an.

Many sisters may feel that they have graduated from studying the Qur’an with this course.

I do not feel that way. Rather, I’ve only graduated from pre-school.

I ask all of my teachers to forgive me for my numerous shortcomings. I was not the best student, but know that my intention is to spread your aathaar everyway I can inshaAllah.

The Prophet of Allah sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam said that if you love your brother, then tell him so. I love all of you for the sake of Allah azza wa jal Alone, and I ask that He unites us under His shade on the day that there will be no shade but His.

I ask Allah ta’ala to make us companions of the Qur’an, to make us of those who ascend with its recitation on the Day of Judgment, to grant us shifaa’ah with the Qur’an, and to grant us companionship with His Prophet sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam in Firdaws Al Alaa, Ameen.

The journey has only begun.

was Salamu alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 11:28 am

    I checked out the website and they were saying on the timeline page that the class would be for 190 weeks, which would mean 2 1/2 years but then when I went to the checkout area, it said three month course. So is 2 1/2 the full curriculum – is that what it means?

    On the main page, it said its an evening class (which is awesome Masha’Allah) and I want to take the class. I was just wondering where I can get more information in regards to how long this class would be and all.

  2. March 6, 2009 12:51 pm

    I’m feelin the new theme, mashaAllah!

  3. March 6, 2009 3:21 pm

    br Arif: The evening course schedule is 190 weeks. Classes are only twice a week so to complete the Qur’an will take some time inshaAllah..but it’s totally worth it. You’ll be learning the Qur’an in such a manner that it was revealed: piecemeal🙂 Please let me know if you have any other questions. The course already began, so inshaAllah sign up ASAP. You can catch up with the recordings inshaAllah.

    br MR: Alhamdulillah I like it too🙂 I had to make it a lil snazzy, the other one was getting boring.

  4. March 7, 2009 4:39 pm

    As-salaamu ‘alaykum wa Rahmat Allah Amatullah,

    I don’t see a duration listed for the once a weekend class. Do you know how long it is supposed to last?

    Jazaaki Allah khayr!!!

  5. Nina permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:49 pm

    Assalamu’alaikum sister Amatullah,

    I think I know you! Didn’t we just meet at TSP this past weekend? I stumbled upon yr blog while doing a search on Al-Huda. Masha-Allah, nice blog.

    Look forward to reading it as I go through the ta’leem ul-quran course.🙂

  6. March 10, 2009 8:57 pm

    Mariam: It will be a few years to complete the Qur’an since class is only once a week🙂 Again, it will be piecemeal inshaAllah. If you don’t know your schedule in the future, I still suggest you take it now inshaAllah and benefit from it as much as you can.

    sister Nina: Yep, you met both my mom and I🙂 I wanted to mention my blog to you, but it just slipped my mind. InshaAllah come back and visit us soon!

  7. seq permalink
    March 12, 2009 12:31 pm

    Assalamu alaikum,

    I am currently taking the evening course, but I might switch over to the weekend course. Do you think that is a good idea? I have gotten kind of stressed at times cause it is back to back not leaving me much time to study or sleep when I have exams/ homework/quizzes on Thursdays and Fridays and I want to be successful in this class and school.

  8. March 13, 2009 2:13 am

    wa alaykum assalam wa rahmatullah,

    may Allah make it easy for you and reward you for your sacrifice. Ameen.

    I would advise that you try your best to do this part time one–because we will all face difficulties when starting something new, especially giving up 8+ hrs every week. Also remember that Allah will test all of us when we intend to something for His sake to see if we will remain upon this intention or not.

    Pray istikhaarah and ask Allah to guide you to that which is best. I took the full time course (monday to friday, 9-3) while working and going to university and I felt the same way when I started but alhamdulillah with the help of my teachers and fellow students, I was able to complete it.

    If you still continue to face difficulties, then alhamdulillah, Allah does not burden us more than we can bear–the saturday classes will be starting soon! May Allah guide you to that which is best for you, Ameen.

    You can email me privately if you like: amatulwadood AT gmail DOT com.

    and Allah knows best.

Leave a Reply

